While the previous version of Windows Server Standard edition and Datacenter edition used a processor-based model, Windows Server 2016 now utilizes a core-based licensing model. 


With core-based licensing, there are 3 licensing rules that MUST be followed:

1) All physical cores in the server must be licensed
Server with processor and core highlighted.png



2) A minimum of 8 core licenses is required for each physical processor
Min 8 cores per processor.png

3) A minimum of 16 core licenses is required for each server

Min 16 cores per server.png


Virtual Machine rights with Windows Server 2016 Standard and Datacenter
Windows Server 2016 Standard edition provides rights for up to 2 Operating System Environments (OSEs) or Hyper-V containers when all of the physical cores in the server are licensed. Multiple licenses can be assigned to the same cores for additional OSEs or Hyper-V containers.
For example, to obtain 2 additional virtual machines (VMs) for Standard edition, simply re-license all of the physical cores on the server.

Windows Server 2016 Datacenter edition provides the rights for unlimited OSEs or Hyper-V containers.


Client Access Licenses (CALs)
The Windows Server 2016 licensing model includes both Cores + Client Access Licenses (CALs). Each user and/or device accessing a licensed Windows Server Standard or Datacenter edition requires a Windows Server CAL or – when using Remote Desktop sessions on the server - Windows Server and Remote Desktop Services (RDS) CAL. A Windows Server CAL and/or RDS CAL gives a user or device the right to access any edition of Windows Server of the same or earlier generation.

If you're a customer, now is a great time to check your server environments to ensure you're in compliance! Not very sure of the existing server environment, fret not! Contact us now if you need us to check on your current server environment. You can purchase with us server license and CAL license. Visit us at www.theitguys.my and start chat with us!